Prophet Soup

November 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm Leave a comment

I hate P-Soup! 

Not really.  There isn’t a soup I hate (except maybe borscht).  But right now my brain is swimming with prophets; visions, laments, temples being torn down and people being plucked up, winged creatures that burn lips with red-hot coals, baskets of fruit and plumblines.  Pre-exilic, exilic and post-exilic. Northern Kingdom or Southern Kingdom. So much of the same thing said in so many different ways.  How does one keep them straight!  Well, obviously I’m not there yet.  I just took my “Prophets” exam and I think I just failed my first test…as in, I have never failed a test before, but this one, maybe.  I filled my brain bucket and it all just sloshed around in there and I tried to dump it on the test and it just came out like soup.

But in that soup pot are 3 nice meaty nuggets….

  • God hates ritual without righteousness.  (speaks for itself).  Read Amos.
  • Aand what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God? (Micah 6:8)
  • God is loving and benevolent and forgiving and God wants YOU in relationship. Read 2nd Isaiah (try chapter 55).

 But other than that, all is going well.  I am struggling towards my final in NT Greek next week.  There again, I just hope to pass.  I am enjoying the preaching class and look forward to future classes with all of my professors.  Which reminds me….

Time to register for Spring classes already!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Greek Midterm….ARGH!!! Intro to Preaching

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


